top of page

Subtle Art of Not Giving a Fuck - Review

Updated: Feb 25, 2020

Life is bitter. I don’t know if you’d agree with me but it’s bitter. Most times.

You, you are not good enough. I’m sorry. I am not good enough. I‘m merely trying just as you are. All these motivational quotes, spoken word or whatsoever try to tell us that we’re good enough, that we’re the ideal person for a particular job or person. Maybe you are. But maybe, you aren’t.


They say, thinking positively is one to the main attributes associated with living positively. But has it occurred to you that maybe, just maybe, if you decide to do something like what my mother does and think of the negative aspect of almost everything, you could actually find an easier approach to living a positive life?


Self-honestly is just as important as we make self love to be.


“Perhaps I’m not the ideal photographer for this shooting theme.”

“Maybe I should study some more, I might flunk this test.”

“Honestly, I’m not half the good writer I wish to become.” This is me to myself.


Being honest with yourself, your capabilities, relationships, thoughts and feelings is highly important for both you and the people in your life. Most especially you.


In Mark Manson’s Subtle Art of Not Giving a Fuck, he speaks of the tyranny of exceptionalism. He says and I quote, “most of us are pretty average at most things we do. Even if you are exceptional at one thing chances are your average or below average and most other things that’s just the nature of life. To become truly great at something you have to dedicate shit tons of time and energy to it and because we all have limited time and energy, few of us have ever become to let exception of adding more than one thing. If anything at all.” If anything at all. Hence, sometimes you’re not good enough for a particular variable. Perhaps another if you’re lucky.


We all work, study, try and struggle for the success we seek, and in the process of all that, we sometimes forget to live.

The Subtle Art of Not Giving a Fuck triggers my thoughts and my dilemmas...


When you do not perform excellently in an exam, ask yourself, “is it a law that I should pass every time?"


When your relationship doesn’t work out as it should’ve, ask yourself “is it a rule that I will find successful relationships everywhere?"


When you find yourself depressed or sad, ask yourself, “is it a necessity that I be happy at all times?”


In all honesty, our expectation that life has to be perfect, is the biggest reason for our unhappiness. Even if not now, there is a dream - most of us have - that at the end, when we reach to the place we worked so hard for, happiness will be a constant in our lives. Unfortunately, this isn’t so.

One has to understand the law of impermanence of nature.

After each sunny day, there has to be a dark night, after each birth there have to be certain deaths, for the full moon to come again it has to pass through no moon. In this imperfection of nature, there is perfection.

Stop taking your failures and bad part of your life intensely, even God does not like to give you pain but its the cycle through which you have to pass.


That being said, get yourself a copy of the book. Happy reading.

~MARYAAM

29 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page