top of page

Five Wollof Proverbs

On the many mornings that I chose to go back to sleep after Fajr prayers, my mother would come into my room, most times aggressively so, and wake me a second time. And many times, I lay in bed in refusal. Then she would come wake me a third time, then she would leave, but not without telling me, “kula gena nyaka worsakh, morla gena muna nelew.”

I will say this again, some statements in local languages have so much essence that vanishes when translated to English. This proverb translates to he who has less luck or blessings, is he who sleeps more.

My mother believes that the best time for ask Allah for help, guidance, and grace, is in the early morning; during the early morning prayer and right after. Once that is completed, she expects you to start your day then. Which if you ask me, is an exceptional habit I once had, but lost in the era of corona virus.

When one starts his day early, he is at a higher chance to do more, effectively. You are allowed time for a healthy breakfast, exercise, meditation, research, and work. And this, enhances one’s productivity.



Many times, in the pursuit of our purpose in life, we wander, in hopelessness. It is not uncommon for one to be overcome by tiredness or loss in his journey of life. This is why when you work, pray and study in the effort to find and achieve your purpose, and you find yourself lost, you go back to where you came from. Where your story began. Because in order for one to find one’s purpose, he must learn his history.

Ku hamut for jem, dangai delu fo jogay. “If you don’t know where you are going, go back to where you came from.”



For as long as I could recollect time, my mother has tended to use proverbs quite a lot. One proverb she tells me, especially when I am on the verge of losing hope, is “lu jot yomba.” Three words. And they have aided me through the paths of hopelessness I have fallen into. They have given me comfort as they have given me faith. Because truly, lu jot yomba. These three words in wollof translates to when its time comes, it comes easy.

Of all the quests one may engage in in life, if it is not the time for its achievement, it will not be so. And when it is, God clears all the obstacles in the path to it. Because He has decreeded so that it is time for you. When you find yourself losing hope at a certain cause you desired and prayed for, remember, lu jot yomba.



While enjoying the company of Bamusa, Yunusa and Khadija, I asked them if they knew any infamous wollof proverb. Khadija turned her attention from her phone to me and said, ku dissal aduna si borpam, mu teel ko sapi. When you put so much burden, desires and expectations on yourself in life, you put yourself in jeopardy. You end up with so much on your head instead of allowing yourself time to breathe and live.



Hamul ayy na, wanteh nyaka largteh sor hamul mor gena bon. Not knowing is bad, but not asking is worse.

I believe this is pretty straight forward, for anyone.

77 views3 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page