top of page

Five Dear Songs

Each of the following songs are, as the title says, dear to me.

1. Who I Am, Natasha Bedingfield

When I was between thirteen and fifteen years old (I am uncertain of the actual age,) I watched the Pirate Fairy for the first time in my life and the soundtrack was a song by Natasha Bedingfield. This is a song that I will always love to listen to, especially when I feel low. Natasha says, in the song, she knows there is so much to her and so much to achieve and I don’t know if I am able to explain its effect on me, but it does sort of put me in my element. And the passion she sing it with and the lyrics – they do good to me.

Favorite Verse: What I’m about, is more than I’ve been.


2. Maybe, Lewis Capaldi. I love Lewis Capaldi. His voice is, without a doubt, very mesmerizing. And each song of his that I listen to brings me a sense of warmth. His Maybe, however, I think he wrote for me. I cannot believe I am writing this with the knowledge that I will publish this, but I am one to run away from anyone who tries to get too close to me. The thought of emotional endearment as its attachment scares me. So I avoid it. But lately the strength to run has been absent and I am just still; that is even scarier.

Favorite Verse: How comes I’m the only one who seems to get in my way?



3. Hands To Myself, Selena Gomez. Selena Gomez is my absolute favorite. I have so much love for this woman and her Hands to Myself gives me such a sexy vibe; one that I keep at the back of my mind for whenever it comes in handy. That’s about it.

Favorite Verse: Can’t keep my hands to myself. I mean, I could but why would I want to?



4. Scars To Your Beautiful, Alessia Cara. Scars to your beautiful is one of the two songs I have listened to by Alessia and it is my favorite of the two. This is a song that will be listened to decades from now and still send the message it entails. I have a deep appreciation for this song because it reminds girls of the beauty the possess irrespective of what society portrays beauty to be and that underneath all the makeup, surgeries, clothes, there is a girl. One with flaws that make her who she is in the most beautiful way.

Favorite Verse: There’s no better you than the you that you are.



5. Can’t Help Falling In Love, Elvis Presley. To those who do not know me, I am a lover of psychological thrillers and horrific movies. I came across this song, which is way older than I am, when I was watching The Conjuring 2. Ed Warren sang it for the traumatized family in the haunted house and I immediately fell in love with it. Elvis Presley really put his all in this song. The words, the tone, the voice, the vibe. I must say, this is the song I would absolutely love to dance to with my husband on my wedding day.

Favorite Verse: Take my hand, take my whole life too. For I can’t help falling in love with you.


27 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

A Niece

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page