top of page

End of Blogging Challenge

The other day, my sisters told me a story of how I – along with my eldest sister – was named paper tiger by my father when I was an infant. They said whenever my dad came home with newspapers, I would take them and tear it. And the youngest of my older sisters also told me that I used to open her school notebooks and attempt to write but I would leave scratches all over and none annoyed her as much as when she would open her book to study and see that I have ruined her notes.

In my defense, maybe I took my father’s newspapers in attempt to read and as for my sister, well, I suppose I wanted to learn how to write early. I would say that is why until today, I prefer to write pen to paper than to type.


Writing, for me, is an intrinsic thing to do. There is one thing about it though, sometimes I am unsure if it heals or destroys me. In a way I am yet to discover but do feel, it is a little of both.

This blogging challenge is the first, after school, family and work, that I have given commitment to and it appears to require a lot more work and devotion than I had initially thought. It appears that when it comes to commitment, you do not only stick around when it is convenient for you, but even when it isn’t. Because when you truly want something and sign up for it, you give it your all. Even on days you feel you are unable to do so; because the slightest effort could lead to a great outcome.


Over the last thirty days, the blogging challenge has ignited a spark, in my art of writing, that I did not know existed within me. In every piece I write – published or unpublished – I leave behind pieces of me. In words, phrases or sentences, and sometimes, subliminally in a paragraph or two. It has become essential for me to write. A necessity of some sort. One that keeps me pragmatic and rational.


As the blogging challenge ends today, I have also decided to take a social media break of an unknown duration. But to everyone who has been reading and following this month’s blog posts, I thank, love, and appreciate you so much! You bring essence to the only thing that comes to me effortlessly and brings me peace – which in another way, is you bringing essence to my life.


I love you! And I will work on writing a lot more often. Thank you so much once again. You are highly appreciated!

31 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

A Niece

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page