top of page

Intro & Commitment Pledge

Updated: Jun 3, 2020

I came across AfroBloggers for the first time last year. I interacted with them on twitter for a while and proceeded to being an active follower. A few weeks later, they brought the Winter’s ABC Blogging Challenge to my knowledge. Though I wished I had participated it, and even had the intetion to do so, I couldn’t - due to personal reasons.


As a person who finds peace and ease in writing, I write regularly. Not daily but enough times to keep my sane. My thoughts and the things that happen around me sometimes become too much for my head, causing me to become a prisoner of my own mind. And when that happens, I blurt it out in text. Most times, on a journal I barely go over a second time.


This year has been undeniably overwhelming, and I say it for most of us. It took a very drifting turn from where we expected it was headed. It was supposed to be our year! How thrilled we were for its commencement. But, as fate would have it, it’s a year that would go down in history as one of the worst years people had to live in.


However, on the brighter side, it has allowed time for refection for many people – myself included. And one of the things it is allowing me to do is write every day (except weekends - maybe) for the entire month of June. If I am being completely honest, this is more of a challenge for myself than it is for the #WinterABC.


Commitment – to anything – is a lot, and it comes with its difficulties. There are people with commitment issues and I do not know if I am one of them, or not. This challenge will not only aid me in finding out my strength in the art of writing but perhaps it will also allow me to see how commitment works for me, if I’m strong enough for it and the phases and difficulties it comes with.


I know for a fact that writing is anything but easy. Writer's block is common and so is the sense of self-doubt where I end up questioning whether I am a good enough writer; thereby, affecting my sense of self.

To set myself up for a challenge that would require that I write almost every day for an entire month is scary. So scary that I thought of it for an entire week.


This is day one. I wrote a very short piece on topic one. I did it!

Please send me prayers for day two; and the rest that follows.


PS: ABC means AfroBloggersChallenge.

45 views5 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page