top of page

A SOCIAL MEDIA BREAK?

When I feel it is needed - usually once a month or sometimes, once every two months - I take a social media break. It does not necessarily mean I am studying for an upcoming exam or busy on some work I am doing. Most of the time, I just feel the need to go away from both the negative and positive energy of social media.

So social media has multiple purposes; communication, advertising and marketing, meeting new people, making friends, finding opportunities to one’s benefit and the list goes on.

Are we really using it for the purposes it was made for though?

Most times, we’re online most of the day, on social media, liking pictures, commenting on how good someone online looks, making a mockery of a social media user or being mocked, tweeting about topics with very little use to our growth, education or career. And very little times, we talk about things we really care about. Things that could help or inspire people that might come across it online.

However, I am not the type to generalize on everything; there are certain people who use social media positively (either reaching out, uploading or downloading beneficial content.)


For some of us, our lives revolve around social media – which is not entirely bad, if you know how to manage your life online. Your life online is supposed to be your same life offline (what you would not do offline, do not do it online. What you do not want offline, do not put it online. What you would not say offline, do not say it online; but that is a topic of its own for another day.) If you are an active reader offline, there are online sites you can read from, if you are an activist, you can still advocate online, if you tend to write a lot, you can still write online and share it on your social media pages.


I am sure we are aware of the fact that social media will always have its negative effects in our lives, irrespective of how hard we try to deal with it positively. There are things we see online that triggers us, either sadden us or cause a headache. And sometimes even a heart ache.

There will always be something that inspires us or brings us joy, and just like that, there will also be things that make us feel sad, unworthy, lonely, less smart than we are etc. It is just there.


A social media break is a necessity for most social media users, and some of us do not realize this. Maybe you feel like you can deal with it all and do not need a social media break. If that is the case with you, good for you! And if social media always does good to your soul, then be a constant social media user. I pray it works well for you.


But, if you have ever felt trigger from the use of social media, consider taking a social media break. Go offline for a week or two. Or even a month if you can. Go out with humans in their physical form. Watch TV and have a hilarious argument or two over a TV show with your family. Take long walks with just you and your thoughts. Or set a goal to finish a book while you are on your social media break if you are not an active reader. Do the things you would not do on a regular day and make memories – offline.


My social media breaks started in 2017. It was because I was preparing for my finals. Afterwards, I realized it had a positive effect on my results but as expected, I went back to be a full-time social media user until mid 2018. That was when my monthly social media breaks started for real.


At first very little people would notice I was off social media, so I’d be gone for about two weeks. What I would usually do on my social media breaks is read, take myself out, enjoy my own company, spend time extra time with my family, sometimes I’d write and just keep them away, more sleep and try to get closer to God.


Recently, I spend less time on my social media break because the amazing people in my life tend to think I go away from social media due to something that might be bothering me. At least now they will know that isn't the case. My last social media break was this past weekend; I wanted it to last a week but well, here I am. It only lasted for 2 days but a break is a break. No?

31 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page